Skip to content

Confrontation

Available

Author: Mohamed Latiff Mohamed, Shafiq Selamat (tr.)

Pick-up location: Tampines , Temasek Poly

Adi loves his life in the kampung: climbing the ancient banyan tree, watching ten-cent movies with his friends, fetching worms for the village bomoh. The residents of Kampung Pak Buyung may not have many material goods, but their simple lives are happy. However, looming on the horizon are political upheaval, race riots, gang wars and the Konfrontasi with Indonesia.

Mohamed Latiff Mohamed, three-time winner of the Singapore Literature Prize, brilliantly dramatises the period of uncertainty and change in the years leading up to Singapore’s merger with Malaya. Seen through the unique perspective of the young Malay boy Adi, this fundamental period in Singaporean history is brought to life with masterful empathy. In the tradition of Ben Okri’s The Famished Road and Anita Desai’s The Village By the Sea, Confrontation is an incredible evocation of village life and of the consequences that come from political alignment and re-alignment.

To borrow this book please log in using telegram
Step 2:Copy this message and send to our Telegram bot:
Borrow request
Confrontation
470
1380383022





SKU: M000090 Category: Tags: , , ,

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Confrontation”